WRC Rally Italia Day 4 Highlights


The Citroën Total World Rally Team crew of Mikko Hirvonen and Jarmo Lehtinen have taken their first victory of the season, winning Rally Italia Sardegna by more than a minute.

And, after fine drives, Evgeny Novikov and Ilka Minor claimed second position with Ott Tänak and Kuldar Sikk taking their first-ever WRC podium, both crews driving Ford Fiesta RS WRCs.

Today’s route was focused on the 8.24 kilometre Gallura stage which ran twice, the second time as the Power Stage. Here, Petter Solberg, Jari-Matti Latvala and Thierry Neuville claimed the additional points for being fastest through this single stage.

There were no changes in position throughout the top 10 leaderboard today, with Mads Ostberg claiming victory in the first run through Gallura.

The final round of the FIA World Rally Championship takes the contenders to Salou for the mixed surface Rally RACC Catalunya-Costa Daurada – Rally de España (November 8-11).

Rally Italia Sardegna – Final Provisional Results (subject to final scrutineering)

1. Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen (Citroën DS3 WRC) 3hr 23min 54.9sec
2. Evgeny Novikov/Ilka Minor (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +1:20.6
3. Ott Tänak/Kuldar Sikk (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +2:21.1
4. Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +3:42.9
5. Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (Skoda Fabia S2000) +4:27.5
6. Chris Atkinson/Stephane Prévot (MINI Cooper Works WRC) +5:22.2
7. Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Floene (Skoda Fabia S2000) +6:12.5
8. Martin Prokop/Zdenek Hruza (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +9:29.3
9. Petter Solberg/Chris Patterson (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +9:52.3
10. Luca Pedersoli/Matteo Romano (Citroën DS3 WRC) +20:35.6

FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers (after 12 of 13 rounds)

Sébastien Loeb (FRA) 244 points
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) 198 points
Mads Østberg (NOR) 137 points
Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) 133 points
Petter Solberg (NOR) 124 points
Evgeny Novikov (RUS) 87 points
Thierry Neuville (BEL) 53 points
Ott Tänak (EST) 52 points
Martin Prokop (CZE) 46 points
Sébastien Ogier (FRA) 41 points
Dani Sordo (ESP) 31 points
Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT) 28 points
Chris Atkinson (AUS) 22 points
Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR) 13 points
Armindo Araújo (PRT) 11 points
François Delecour (FRA) 8 points
Dennis Kuipers (NLD) 8 points
Henning Solberg (NOR) 6 points
Pierre Campana (FRA) 6 points
Matti Rantanen (FIN) 6 points
Jari Ketomaa (FIN) 6 points
Yazeed Al Rajhi (SAU) 4 points
Mathew Wilson (GBR) 4 points
Patrik Sandell (SWE) 4 points
Ken Block (USA) 4 points
Sébastien Chardonnet (FRA) 1 point
Ricardo Triviño (MEX) 1 point
Mathieu Arzeno (FRA) 1 point
Peter Van Merksteijn (NLD) 1 point
Eyvind Brynildsen (NOR) 1 point
Abdulaziz Alkuwari (QAT) 1 point
Manfred Stohl (AUT) 1 point
Luca Pedersoli (ITA) 1 point

FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers (after 12 of 13 rounds)

Citroën Total World Rally Team - 413 points
Ford World Rally Team - 281 points
M-Sport Ford World Rally Team - 170 points
Citroën Junior World Rally Team - 72 points
Adapta World Rally Team - 71 points
Qatar World Rally Team - 71 points
MINI WRC Team - 26 points
Brazil World Rally Team - 20 points


forgot your password?

Invite a Friend